April 15, 2003

  • haru dakara

    A few years ago, a friend of mine was jogging around a local park one sunny April morning. She was 21 at the time and the sort of girl that you’d call a firecracker; always full of energy and zest for life. You couldn’t help but have a good time in her company and I’m pretty sure that if you were ever lucky enough to get her in bed, you’d be up for a whale of a time. I’m only pretty sure about that because as I said, she was a friend and besides, this isn’t about her so much as what happened while she was out jogging in the park.

    So there she is, pootling away and she becomes aware of this guy who has started jogging alongside her. She looks over at him, wondering what he’s doing, but he doesn’t acknowledge her, and they just run on together for a while in silence. Suddenly, he reaches over with his right hand and squeezes her left breast, holds it for a moment or two as my friend looks down in surprise and then he takes off at full speed in the opposite direction.

    A few days later, when she told me about what had happened, the Westerner in me managed to be both outraged and sympathetic in equal measures but she herself appeared utterly unruffled by the whole affair. I couldn’t understand why she wasn’t pissed off about it and when I asked her, she simply shrugged her shoulders and said “Oh...haru dakara , because it’s Spring...”

    She explained to me that the Japanese believe that people do all kinds of crazy things in the Spring and that any peculiar behaviour at that time of year, especially of a sexual nature, is quite understandable...why, it’s just human nature....

    And it’s true, they do believe that here. I’ve heard it used many times for any number of reasons to explain or excuse oddness between March and May. I don’t know that it constitutes what you’d call an actual legal defence, but it certainly appears to be a notion close to the popular bosom. Sometimes I wonder if life might not be a sort of perpetual Springtime for me. It's entirely possible.

    And since as excuses go, this one’s pretty much unbeatable, I’d just like to say that if you notice anything odd about my behaviour, anything at all, I only have this to say

    haru dakara

Comments (43)

  • I'm fairly sure I'd have tripped him up and clobbered him senseless.. unless he was cute .. or, you know, Hugh Jackman.  If it was Hugh Jackman I'd trip him and...

    Well.. okay, now I hafta plan out what I'd do.  Thanks for the afternoon daydream material

  • you better hop on the breast squeezing train pronto

  • More and more you make Japan sound to be the fascinating place I have always suspected.

  • OK.. WHY Can't we have these kinds of 'actions' in NYC? (I would suspect, the poor female would kick my butt)

    I think I would start jogging just for this reason..lol.. but only during March through May.

  • Some people have ALL the luck. I've been walking for YEARS and never had another walker come up and fondle me. WHAT AM I DOING WRONG!??!?!!

    Spring, indeed. Ya gotta love it.

  • Hmmm.  Okay, but -- so if a female jogs up beside a guy and gives him a good little friendly pinch in the hind end.......that's okay too?  I mean, I suppose so, but just had to ask and all! 

  • That kind of thing is always okay in my book.

  • Essentially what you're saying is that the horn dogs bark louder in the Spring time and so there was a necessity to invent a word to describe this phenomenon?  Maybe I'ma give that vocabulary word for a journal tomorrow, and ask them to invent one for strange phenomenons similar to this, lol 

  • *runs past giving right nut a fondle*

    hey, haru Dakara... right?

    (you shouldn't point at people. Some may think it's rude, dude... especially considering your ELP.)

    *In cockney accent* ELP! I need ELP!

  • ok, the real reason I have to comment is the date on your post... here in the states its still the 15th, but in Japan its my birthday already!! hahaha neat. its all about me.

    and second... it must always be spring, i'm a perv year 'round.

  • that's true, kitty is a HUGE perv.  she's pinching my boobie even as i type this. 

    what i wanna know is, in what season is it excusable to randomly strangle people who piss you off?  please make a japanese phrase for that, and i'll tattoo it on my ass. 

    and thank you for all the 'versary love.  you and mr. fixit can excercise haru dakara any time you want, baby.

  • BOB!!!  That happened to me once!!  Except it was in New Orleans and the guy was coming from the other direction.  He just slinked up to me, lifted my left breast with one flat hand, then released it and slinked on past me.  He did it before I even knew what happened. 

  • I sooo wanted to be the first one to do the run by fondling.  But I knew with all the competition it was in impossibility.  *cup, cup*

  • bob, you traitor!  how could you attack me on my own turf!  *weeps*

  • This happened to me, too!

    Wasn't really out of the blue, though...nor was I jogging. Actually it was nothing like her experience. Guess I'm a bit of a year-round haru no onna myself...wait a stinkin' minute, isn't that an old Japanese name for a prostitute?

    Oh well, I have been considering a career move.

  • Mmm... boobies...  Maybe I should take this up as my new Spring-time hobby.  Hadn't heard of this before though, but sekuhara is an all-year round thing in this part of Japan.  In all of Japan really...

  • LOL thats a great story. and an even better excuse

  • haru dakara. hehehe

  • ha ha. of course i would have had to beat the shit out of someone for that. of course fondling sounds good right now. hmm.

  •   You realize that the guy was a doctor, and he was checking her mid-run heart rate, right?  He took off in the opposite direction because he had to move on to the next jogger-- "Turn your head and cough, please."

  • hahaha that's a great excuse. wonder who came up with it.

    peace

    *me*

  • This explains a lot. I'm not a sex addict. I'm just a victim of Spring!

  • I had the impression that we believed in that haru dakara stuff everywhere outside the Tropics, where, as everyone knows, there are no seasons.  It comes a little later in the year, up here in the subarctic suburbs, and it is crazier for having been pent up so long.

  • The formatting looks good to me on 1024x768, but I haven't tried it on anything else... curiouser and curiouser...

  • WE live in an apartment complex, and just in the last few weeks the hot tubs have been packed...just full of young bodies jampacked in the small ovals and playing grab ass like squirrels.

    Gotta love spring.

    ps which browser do you use? All of my mac browsers suck /or I just couldnt figure out which one to use to make my xanga premium experience work.

  • Its as good an excuse as any...

  • Hey you can even use this excuse now if you don't blog for a long time :)

  • and then she kicked him in his balls...hey, because it's spring.

  • haru dakara... that's pretty cool.  people do get crazier in spring. except me, i'm like that alllll year long.

  • So if I grab your ELP, I am just following the rites of spring?  Cool!

  • Haha, cool story.. Maybe America should have that saying too...?

  • So what your saying is if I do a reach around and  insert my other finger in your anus, all I got to do is say.......

    Haru Dakara?

    Well HELL bend over please, I swear I'll hit your prostate and it will all feel soooooooo good.

  • It's so incredibly important that we consider OTHER cultural influences and aspects when we're reviewing a situation.  Another example might be...the Buddhist's altruistic intent has been labelled "co-dependence" by many Western psychologists.  What is essential to human happiness (in a Buddhist perspective) is something to avoid, from a Western point of view.

    The differences are stunning.

  • hakuna matata to you to...

    dickcarter, ?

  • I 'll coin the phrase Haru Dacquiri- for when you drink to artificially emulate the joy of Spring.

  • cherry blossom time :) *W*

  • It was late April and I was a fresh high school student. A good looking guy got on the same bus and crawled into and stood just behind me so closely. After a short while, I felt something strange on my butts. What I realised was that he was poking on my butts with his ELP(probably, not sure, though) in a crowded bus!

    There are no excuses for ’sŠ¿, ‚¿‚©‚ñ, CHIKAN!! ( I don't know what it's called in English. Bob? Zaccan or DiDi? Any help?)

    Btw, DiDi, prostitute is haru o uru onna, so I think you can be safe to say that you are haru no onna...

  • i think ill start jogging now

  • Hmmm... if that's what it takes for me to get my breast touched... I think I'll start running again.. except where I run, there's just cows... and the occasional horse, and I'm not really into animals.. ;o) Guess I better get a mamogram or something....

  • Damn.  I wish I could grope women on the street without getting arrested.

    But then again, I'm female.  And for some reason, women here don't like being groped by me.

    XP

    I thought your eprops were strange water buffalo or someone with a mullet.  Now that I know what they really are, I'm not sure whether I should be amazed or incredibly aroused.

  • I was laughing at your comment on Demeter's Daughter's site, so I came back to tell you, but you haven't written anything new yet

  • I'm totally pulling all stops and not only cupping your teet, but twisting as well!  *eg*

  • I didn't know horses could jump when they swam.  Just like a big fish really, well a bit like one anyway.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

Recent Posts

Recent Comments

Categories