February 6, 2003



  • What is the difference between participation and involvement?

    When I returned home last night, mrs bln had some news for me. Apparently, from April it will be our turn to be the neighbourhood hancho...

    The hancho is the neighbourhood leader and this Japanese word is almost certainly where the English 'honcho' comes from.

    In Japan, there is a stronger sense of obligation to one's community than in the West. Of course, this probably depends on where one lives; possibly in Tokyo and other huge cities the situation isn't quite the same, but here at least, it is so.

    Let's look at how it all works for a moment. In a city there will be smaller divisions or 'towns', called -cho. Each of these will be further divided into smaller communities called han. Typically, a han might consist of ten or twelve houses; sometimes more, sometimes less. Although these areas are under the control of the local town or city office, many of the day to day procedures are regulated by the community itself.

    So, what are the duties of these community leaders? Well, making sure that the neighbourhood is kept clean and tidy is one. Ensuring that all rubbish is recycled properly is another. In some areas, patrolling for truants (heaven forbid!) is yet another. Organising the neighbours in times of emergency, delivering community newsletters, helping out at funerals and wakes in the neighbourhood...in short, making sure that everything in the community goes as smoothly as possible.

    Now, I don't want you to get the impression that this is all done with an altruistic and neighbourly sense of purpose. For the most part, nobody wants to be the hancho, but it's shiyo-ga nai...there's no choice in the matter...

    Personally, the thought of getting up at 6:30 in the morning to go and stand outside and tell people who already know very well, thankyouverymuch, where they should put their empty beer cans, pet bottles, wine bottles and cans of hairspray, doesn't fill me with an overpowering sense of excitement but since everyone else has had a year doing it and it's rotated to our turn, well, tough luck bln, just get out there and do it.

    Neither am I particularly looking forward to the one Sunday a month when I shall have to get up at a similar time to go and clean my neighbourhood. I pay local taxes, y'see, I'm participating, I'm doing my bit. So the foreign devil in me asks why the hell I'm paying taxes and have to do street cleaning myself. Obviously the yen I'm paying in local taxes aren't enough to employ someone to do it for me....

    Except, of course they are. I'm going to be doing it because by doing so, I'm actively involved in the responsibility for the upkeep of my area. In Japanese schools too, it is the students who have to clean their own classrooms. How messy and dirty are you going to make a place if you know that it's you who's going to have to clean it up? This, in part, is the principle behind the idea.

    Boring and miserable a duty though it is, devoting time to one's community is actually not a bad thing at all. It'll give me an opportunity to develop relationships with my neighbours beyond a simple 'good morning', it'll give the neighbours a chance to learn that there's more to that strange shaven headed gaijin than they've suspected all these years, it'll give me a sense of pride to look at the clean streets around my home and know that they're clean because I got up at 6:30 in the morning to clean 'em!

    Of course, I haven't actually seen 6:30 in the morning for god knows how long, so that's going to be an adventure all in itself...

    (for another example of the difference between participation and involvement, think about a chicken and a pig looking in through the window one morning at the farmer tucking in to his bacon and eggs. "See," says the chicken, "I'm important to the farmer; I participate in his breakfast!" "Yeah" replies the pig, "but I'm involved"......)

Comments (27)

  • That means you'll be one whole year of hancho??? I wonder how the neighbourhood/community can go on with you as their leader...

    Loved your analogy.

  • That is so fascinating.   I like that idea.   Something I think we as Americans should pay attention to.

  • Great analogy!  I wonder if I'm supposed to be participating like that...  But they never came through with my request for a harem, so maybe I'll just forget about it.

  • DiDi, despite living in this house for 7 years, and paying her dues to the cho-nai like a good neighbour, has never had to be the hancho.

    [Do you suppose this is because everyone already acknowledges her role as Headmistress and think that's enough power, thank you very much?]

    Enough third person...I think it is more likely that we are just so much more cityfied in this neck of town (yeah, I just called your area inaka...come on, we fell off the road into a vegetable patch for chrissake!) that our cho-nai doesn't actually do many of the things you mentioned above...no one stands out there at 06:30, the city trucks actually clean our street, and we all share the burden of passing the newsletters and checking on the single residents of our cho-nai when there is severe weather or an earthquake. The fact that our cho-nai consists of only 7 houses may have something to do with the way things work here.

    DiDi thinks it's much easier to stay up until 06:30 than to get up...and would be more than happy to help you achieve that goal.

    Now, where did I read that pig joke?

  • Here we have BLOCK WATCHES, with Block Captains. MKD is a block captain... I, however am the neighborhood (100 houses, fully fenced in-- the one way you get into the neighborhood is the same and only route to get out) civic league's Vice President. A position bestowed (imposed) upon me by the President, who just happened to be one of my girly-friends.

    The worst part is getting people to pay their Civic League dues-- a paltry sum which no matter how low, people are ill-disposed to come up with. Those funds go toward beautifying the "garden" entrance-- we are all-volunteer (coerced)... but at least we don't have to get up at 6:30 a.m. Not even for the bi-annual neighborhood garage sale... and I don't s'pose you have those...

  • That sounds like a pretty full on sort of community ~ but I commend it, it seems like it's effective.  My understanding of Japan is that society is far more structured than ours is (yay, Ealing!) and it seems to benefit from far less crime ~ perhaps some of that stems from community involvement?

  • It just occured to me...seven houses...seven years...by god, I think that might just mean my luck is about to change!

    That'll teach me to be smug, eh?

    I wish we had garage sales...I've got a house full of crap...er...I mean "great stuff" that I could sell.

  • Well, I'm impressed.  Everything I read about any other culture on earth sounds better than the one I inhabit...bunch of fat, self-satisfied agressive rich monolingual uneducated folk that we are ....... .  Anyway:  good luck with 6:30! 

  • Don't mind me, hancho.

    I'm just preparing to introduce your chicken and pig to a frying pan, is all...

    *MMMMMMM*  BACON.  EGGS.

    Blessings,

    Paul

  • maybe if we had students clean their own classrooms here....

    then they could move on to bigger and better things, MY APARTMENT!

    truly then, society would be in good standing.

  • What a great idea!  I think we can learn so much from other cultures.  Adopting those ideas are the hard part.  Hell most people these days don't even know their neighbor's names.  It's a very sad state of affairs.

  • My husband says to me, 'Tess, go look at Bob'sleftnut...it's really really good..."

    (Thankfully, I did know to what he was referring...I wouldn't like to have to explain that to my motherinlaw though... )

    Anyway.   Great blog.  Community support is a vital part of a healthy society. 

  • That was a fascinating blog. I've travelled a lot, lived in a few different places and love to hear the details of day-to-day life that are so foreign to me.

    Your comment on my site was that I wouldn't open myself up to 'the slings and arrows of outrageous commenters' - that wasn't the point but you couldn't have known it, because it has been something ongoing in my blogs for a while.

    What it is, is that I have some friends who do not live on the right side of the law by any means.  They are money-launderers, drug (marijuana) smugglers, illegal immigrants, conmen on a very big scale...  And right now there is a very interesting adventure going on to which I am a privileged observer, but not participant.

    I was writing about it, but certain of the very few people who read me were really harrassing me for details of where I live.  Where I live is tiny!  You could find me just like that.  And my friends. Who might go to prison.

    But this blog was for me, not an audience. Cos I lose passwords, lock combinations and keys... I thought this was a safe place to keep it!

    That was the dilemma.

  • That mentality is probably what makes Japan so much cleaner than New York, although I hear public urination in Japan is not uncommon.

  • kinda like sex then... if you're good, your partner will be involved.  If not, they'll only participate.

  • funny, i was just trying to remember that little chicken and pig anecdote the other day for a short address i was making to some collegues.  i ended up using the barnyard dynamic duo to represent contribution and commitment, which worked.

    in my neighborhood, (heavy on the hood, light on the neighbor) im not sure how well the system would work.  we have some guys who think they are the lifetime hancho, and some other guys like me who would only be more of a figurehead hancho.  it would be pretty tough to command too much respect with my gutters falling off like they are. 

  • nice entry. i really like your out look on life and congradulations on getting in the spotlight. thats a big step. look foward to reading your wrightings in the future. and good luck with the 6:30!

    xoxo

  • Hang in there, Boss-man.  Shiyo-ga nai.

  • Sounds good to me. One of the reasons America is going downhill fast is a sense of community hell screw sense just commnutity. I don't think community was ever a roll in the hay but it kept your nose clean so to speak and you had to be held *accountable* not a whole lot of accountable in America.

    Well anyway little pig enjoy your 6:30's

  • blah, call me a fucking ass, but i hate the assumption that owe anything to the community. i'm doing my part by not killing all the morons who drive me up the wall everyday.  i like being uninvolved, becuase 90% of the people around me are complete idiots who'd just as soon spit on me as say hello, so why the holy hell would i want to clean their driveway for them?  fuck me.  if this tradition comes to america, i'm moving to... um... canada?  they're still pretty uncivilized there, right?

  • woooiee u write sooooooooooo muchhhhhhhhhhh...

    propz *.~

  • Very interesting. This must be what they mean by "when in Rome..."

    I can't even clean my apartment!

  • I believe the great Trick Daddy said it best with his timeless masterwork, "Change My Life":

    Gotta change my life
    Lord knows I aint livin right
    Yall know i aint chillin right
    Smokin out everyday and night
    Gotta ease my mind
    Gotta find time to rewind
    Cause I'm fallin way behind
    Me and my dogs we known to ride

    Ditto Mr. Daddy, Ditto. 

  • we have a deep sense of community here too. there's good points and bad points. and yeah 6:30 am sucks.

  • I praise your government, I just can't bring myself to see us "americans" doing such a thing.  It would be great, but I do pay taxes and I would figure that is sufice.  Yes, I see the analogy behind making people take care of it, I just don't see american's accepting such a 'harsh' regulation.

    Perhaps, one day - who knows! 

  • Now see, this here was a real BLN entry. It was inspired! It had all the elements that draws a reader in, makes 'em wanna keep reading to the end-- where you conveniently sum it all up with a way people can differentiate 'tween participation and involvement-- correlating your personal hancho experience with bacon... such style.

    miss ya -- oft-times I scroll back on on my site just to read your witty wise-cracks. You used to glue me to the computer, you did... or rather your words did... Miss your words, dammit.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

Recent Posts

Recent Comments

Categories