May 20, 2003

  • For the first time, or at least the first time that I've been aware of, I've been losing subscribers. Seven of 'em have jumped ship this last week and while it wouldn't really be true to say that I'm unduly worried about it, I have been wondering why.

    Personally, I've never unsubscribed from anyone but that may be because I almost never subscribe until I've been reading for a while and although there have been times that I have disagreed violently (but in a quietly self contained kind of way) with something I've read in my SIR, what interested me in the first place keeps me coming back for more.

    It could also be that (as you all know) I am so attuned to my inner Pooh that I'd never even remember to unsubscribe. I'm still subscribed to Shortpants, for example, who disappeared in a blaze of silence about 16 years ago. I know I ought to unsub, since the space his name takes up could be replaced with someone more, let's say, extant, but it always slips my mind and besides, there's always the sentimental and nostalgic pleasure of seeing his name there.

    I'm not suggesting for a moment that any of you should feel obliged (ha!) to remain subscribed to me for any reasons, sentimental or otherwise; I'm just curious what precipitated this mass exodus. Seven people can be called 'a mass', can't they?

    I wonder if it's because I don't post so regularly any more or if, instead of the wild free for all of the Wotsits days, you now have little to keep you amused. Or maybe it was because I told you about having a wank on the balcony in my last post. I imagine that some people might not find that thought as amusing as I did.

    Anyway, they've gone, which is excellent news for the rest of you because there's now more of me to go round.

    And to show my appreciation for those that remain, here's a little quiz for you:

    Here are some of the bloggers that I enjoy. Unfortunately, they've gone and got themselves all in a muddle and I can't remember who they are. Can you help me sort them all out?

    Moans in heat

    Rub bald Len

    Rather nude

    Man ogre

    Gathered deer smut

    Erodes youth hero

    Lush life miaow


    ************************

    Finally, because I know how stressful your lives are, why not try bln's stress test. This is an excellent though simple test that's surprisingly effective at indicating whether you have too much stress in your life.

    It's a picture of two dolphins. They will appear completely normal when viewed by a stress-free individual. Unfortunately, the test is not accurate enough to pick up mild stress levels.

    It's quite simple. If there is anything that appears different about the dolphins, (ignore the slight colour differences) it is often an indication of potential stress related problems. Differences, if any, may also indicate the source of your stress.

    Directions:
    Sit upright and viewing the screen head-on, take a deep breath, exhale and then click on the blue ball and look directly at the picture that appears. If there is anything out of the ordinary then you should consider taking things a little easier....



Comments (44)

  • It's weird, man....I've lost probably 20 or 30 subs this year (at least). I always wonder why as well (and many times "who"....I have a hard time keeping track).

    I took the stress test. It made me extremely aroused. I'm not sure what that means.

  • I unscrambled all the names and they all spelled out Rache.  How weird is that?

    I do like the idea of having an inner Pooh.  I have an inner Eeyore...

    The dolphins look great...apparently I'm stress-free.

  • I've noticed my own sub-loss is directly proportional to.........absolutely nothing I can fingerpoint.  Oddly, moving to a comment-free environment (except today, in case you want to stop by ) lost me only one person.  Very odd.

    As to the stress test..........mooooo.  (aroused?  sheesh.  the man is NUTS (no offense to you, Mr. Nut, of course).  Nuts, or very funny.  Haven't decided which yet ).

  • ROFL!  Man ogre?!?!  Oh holy crap, LOL!!!

    I'm gonna go out on a limb and say that DiDi is the smutty dear ~ er, deer

    I love those dolphins, they looked fine to me!!!   (Guess this lobotomy is paying off!

    Man ogre... *chuckles and shakes head* You'll give me a reputation, you will

  • Is it sad that I'm spending more time thinking about your name scrambles than anything else so far today?

    So far, I've got Moans in heat = SaintMahone, Man ogre=Morgane, of course, and Erodes youth hero = TheHorseYouRode.

    I am such a sad sack.

  • I dare say that anyone who would unsub at the mention of a balcony wank has no sense of humour, and also no libidio - good riddance. Now you may wank til your heart's *ahem* content.

    I saw a duck-billed platypus and a penis instead of 2 dolphins...what does that say about my stress level?

  • your funy ~guy

  • I think I may have to start a new site with that scramble.

  • People sub to me, I sub to people
    some of them un-sub, sometimes I un-sub
    sometimes some of them turn around and re-sub
    Sometimes I do too.
    When I close down, I un-sub sometimes, then re-sub when I get back (or not).
    sometimes people notice, sometimes they don't care, or let on.
    It's like sport sometimes.

    Xanga... it's a trip.

  • Dear Mr. Nut,

    If you don't have anything to post, or just don't feel like it....don't.

    Thank you for your time.

    Sincerely,
    Sporadic Xanga Addict

  • Very lately I've taken an almost obsessive notice of my attritive losses. They don't come in a bunch, just a slow, steady bleed that just about breaks even with the new. Like you, I don't take it personally, but it certainly arouses a most insistent curiosity, not just why, but even who. I wonder if it was someone I "know," or just one of those who have subbed to me to read but for whatever reason I have not reciprocated.

  • Oh, and "moans in heat?"

    Yick.

  • I just now followed directions and clicked onto the blue ball... what's that anyway? Cows with porpoise?

  • I love anagrams, but alas, the only one I could get without looking at the names on your comments page was "Morgane"...

  • yup. I'm stressed. that dolphin had an udder!

  • I can't possibly be that stressed...going home on Friday!

  • about the only thing i could think of for my name was "acher" and "reach".  so i'm guessing i'm not up there.  fine, you wanker. 

    if i hadda guess why you're losing subs?  it's not cuz they don't love you, it's cuz they're so blinded by this abhorrent color scheme that in an attempt to get back to their own sites and save what little of their eyesight remains, they panic and just start clicking everywhere.  law of averages (or the heisenberg uncertainty principle, or maybe the fifth amendment) dictates that some of them will inadvertantly click "unsubscribe".  now excuse me while i wipe the blood from my eyes.

  • I don't always read who I've subscribed to.  But I never unsubscribe.   That way I've always got the option to go read something "new" if I've got the time.  Sometimes I don't read someone on purpose.  I'll have a bunch to catch up on when I finally come back!

  • Hmm, am I even subscribed to you? You know I'm here much more often than I should be. You know you're stuck with me for a "lifetime", at least.

    I saw the same platypus/penis combo as Kallikrates, and I felt aroused, like Mr. Lush Life...whatever does it mean?

    And now that I've gathered up all this deer smut, what do you want me to do with it?

  • I am waiting for the sexual-escapades-in-Bali-thing.

  • Platypus?  All I got was a cow.  Shit.

  • ah but bob, you still have me.  you lucky man!

    dickcarter, some things are worth the risk!

  • Haha.  My site's not much to look at, but my Sites to Read list is very selective.  I have a bunch of FRIENDS on there that I can't take off for the sake of loyalty [although they haven't updated in, oh, YEARS..] but I have absolutely TWO people on there that I don't know.. and you're one of them!  Aren't you feeling honored?  And I don't like the loooong, long SIR lists on sites [I saw that look you gave me!  *protests vehemently* It elongates them abnormally, I swear...] so mine are short and I like anonymously subbing.  *mischevious grin*  I don't know what appeals to me more - the agony of the people I sub anonymously to.... or....... ...  nope, I guess that would be it.  Haaaah...  

    Oh,  hello by the way. 

  • there was a time when someone subbing was almost-orgasmic, and someone unsubbing was a cause for soul-searching, depression, and a sad face.

    now i am all over that. i check my subscribers list just 10 times a day now. i am over it. yes i am.

    btw, have you been subscribing back? some people unsubscribe if you do not subsribe back within x number of days.

    also some people unsubscribe if you do not blog about sex within x number of days.

  • i am not concerned about the # of subs i have, i blog for the hell of it. to vent. a form a therapy, eh. but i have unsubsribed before. felt bad. and the person immediatly unsubscribed me the next day. hmm. think she just subscribed cause i did. i just didnt care for what she had to say anymore. she had really good, and funny posts, but it soon turned into drama of high school. been there, done that.

  • why in the world would people unsub from you??  your site is wonderful!

    well they can't have unsubbed because of your last post--people never get sick of sex talk!  i guess it is because you post irregularly now, although that should make readers more anxious for your next post.  hmm....  go figure.

    i saw TWO cows in your stress test!!  i'm definitely stressed out right now!!  aaaaargh!

  • I thought your dolphin stress test was absolutely hilarious!

  • Heh, my boss has that same dolphin picture on his computer desktop. Too funny.

    Incidently, I've noticed that people unsubscribe on the drop of the hat when you don't post regularly. I've lost one person, but since I only have about 10, losing one is a tragedy. I've been busy lately and I haven't been visiting Xanga as much as I used to and I'm losing responses and comments. *sniffs* Makes me sad. *sniffs* I thought I was amusing enough to keep on their SIR until I kicked the bucket. *sniffs*

    By the by, I had removed Shortpants only recently when I realized he was never coming back. I know a friend of mine who refused to take him off her list in hopes that he would return. I don't like to unsubscribe really either.

  • Heh, you know, Virgilmvx is right about that sex thing... gotta keep em coming back for more... like the big SEX on my last week's blog in RED, so it couldn't be missed.

  • Hey, you still have me! Not that you'd notice, though

    I unsub from people occasionally. Usually it's because they've stopped being interesting to me, although I too still have Shortpants on my list and will probably never remove him, with the glimmer of hope that one day he will come back and entertain me again. I'll unsub people who are one-note writers (always about sex, always about nuclear physics, etc.), and I'll unsub people who seem to be so full of themselves and judgemental about others that I wouldn't want to be around them in real life. And sometimes I'll unsub people because I comment on their site every day for six months and they still act like I don't exist, coupled with one of the reasons above. There's more FYI than you ever wanted

  • thats a nice dolphin, is one supposed to look like a cow

  • I need some serious help, there was a dolphin in place of my swimming cow twin. 

  • The jumping horse, next to the flying dolphin of course! 

    Some of the more stable individuals apparently see two dolphins.  Those undergoing mild stress have been reporting the cow that leapt over the moon coming down to umm well not the earth exactly, but the sea.  And there are those of us, mentally unclassifiable I like to think, who see a horse.

    Does that answer you?  Does it show that I am stoned?  I had difficulty following it myself when rereading it so I gave up

    It looks like I forgot to give you eprops earlier. Sorry.

  • it's a lot of trouble unsubscribing to people. I unsubscribe sporadically to people who haven't written in several months.  

    I never counted subscribers coming or going. How did you know they left? I see them when they come on.

  • hilarious. Ha!

  •   Rub Bald Len?  Who told?  And how much are the negatives, you blackmailing bastard?

      The manatee on the left of the stress test is taking it's nickname of "Sea Cow" far too seriously.

      What kind of babies will that lovely couple produce?  When I go to my favorite steakhouse, sink my choppers into a meaty bite o' sirloin, is it going to squirt me in the eye with it's blowhole? 

      And are cans of tuna now going to be required to have a "Heifer Safe" stamp on the side? 

  • hmm. i don't even know who is suscribed to my site. or if i'm suscribed to anyones. i don't think i am. id rather go click through the SIR list.

    it's prolly because you don't update enough. people get bored very very easily.

    peace

    *me*

  • A picture for me?  I think I am missing something somewhere.

    btw Judaism passes through the maternal side.  This entitles one to an Israeli passport.  This may not matter to you, but I could tell you I have some friends who are always trying to find someone in their family tree that entitles them to another nationality.  Lol. 

  • No, BLN, I'm still mystified!  But am enjoying this.

  • What I am mystified about is life itself. But having been told the answer is 42, I must live with this.

    Also the pic.  It was a v nice looking man but I don't know him.  And not knowing him I don't know which blog it relates to.  And what is more I don't know where he was supposed to pop up from before that I missed, but if he'd popped up closer to home he could have taken me out to dinner being as he was so nice looking

  • You asked if you could help, well, I tell you, I never did understand 42, I really didn't.  It should have been a prime number as far as I can figure...

  • i still read you, mr. bln. 

  • oh, and going along with rache, I must say that after leaving your site, all the colors everywhere else seem faded and dull.

  • I always love your blogs.  Something is stressin' me out though; I saw Monica Lewinsky jumping out of the water--nude!  It must be dead week (see soon-to-be written post on my site).

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

Recent Posts

Recent Comments

Categories