October 23, 2002

  • Do you ever do that thing when you’re driving? That thing when you sort of come to with a jerk and suddenly think to yourself, “Hey....what? Huh? I have absolutely no recollection of the last couple of minutes. How did I get here?

    I do that a lot.

    Which may go some way to explaining why there is a bottle of flower essence with my name written on it waiting for me on the kitchen counter.

    Do you guys know about flower essences and flower remedies and what have you? Its another world, I tell you.

    mrs bln, in the last couple of years, has become quite a fan of such things. Homoeopathy too. And all thats ok, you know; it was in a sense me who prodded her in that direction by refusing to take conventional medicine every time I sneezed or coughed or looked like I might be feeling a little under the weather in the first place.

    She wanted something Id be more amenable to; she knows my preferences for the natural way of doing things.

    ****** “Why d’you want to have the baby in hospital? Let’s have her at home!”

    “Because hospitals are safer if anything goes wrong.”

    “Nothing’s going to go wrong. The midwife’d be right on top of things. Let’s do it! Hey! Let’s have her in the bath! Yeah, that’s a great idea, hey....hey...wait....come back....”
    ******

    Anyway, one of the exciting things she has discovered is that not only are these natural remedies useful for treating recalcitrant husbands when they have a cold, but also for treating them when they're just being recalcitrant.

    Now I do believe that there is a lot in all of this. When Maya was born, Hannah was quite jealous of the attention she got at first and we worried about this becoming a problem. So mrs bln consulted my mother. Didn't I mention that? My dear old ma is a reflexologist and erstwhile healer and quite knowledgeable about such matters. And she recommended, if memory serves, a mixture of holly and gorse remedies. And it worked; Hannah, within about 5 weeks of beginning the course, became much more gentle and loving to her little sister. Could have been a coincidence, I know, but its one of those you had to be there things. But while I keep an open mind, I do still try my best to be difficult and feign disinterest in it all.

    But this time is different. This sensei (and you should know that while there is interest in alternative medicine in Japan, flower remedies and essences aren't well known here; its not a Japanese practice), this sensei apparently only wanted to know my name and date of birth and from that would divine what essence would help with those parts of my character that mrs bln cannot reach. From just the sound of my name and my date of birth, she would ascertain (in a manner which I am unable to relate) who I am and what I am, with nothing so disturbing to divination as an actual face to face meeting.

    And now the results of her magic await me in a small brown glass bottle on the kitchen counter. I am to take 4 drops 4 times a day. And it's got my name on it.

    Like a bullet....

    But I'm going to do it; bite that bullet for the sake of peace and quiet. (I'm not going to say that this time though...)

    And if, over the course of the next month or so, you notice a marked improvement in my character, a much more mature and responsible approach to life, you'll know why....

Comments (23)

  • Herbal remedies have something to be said for them...hell the human race has been around for a long time, and we've had disease and ailments that same amount of time...the earth has a lot of stuff to cure them...but narcalepcy? I'm not sure it can cure that...

    As for BLN radio...I like the idea, but I can never hear it cause my work firewall blocks it.

  • Wow ... you are so complex Bob .. I would have never known .. as for tickling my fancy ... anytime sweets

  • I have a couple Bach's Flower remedies although they are `Chicory', `Elm' and I forget the other one. I used to use them quite often when I was a hypocondriac.

    The BOBLEFTNUT radio is a great idea. I had an online radio station in 1996 if you can believe that! It was fun especially because I had no listeners at all. You would be a little more lucky. Heck I'd put up a banner on my site for ya!

    http://www.dayofthedead.com

  • A more mature and responsible approach to life wouldn't be any fun at all, now would it? 

  • I totally believe in herbs and natural remedies, except I do visit the Dr. when I need to.  My friend Queenie (u can visit her page) dropped her two offspring right in her own bed with a midwife and had no problems at all.  Women have been dropping them out for years, even chewing the cord apart with their teeth.

    I am suspicious of the medical industry. I believe we have been convinced of many things which are not necessary.  Capitalism at it's best.

  • i birthed in the hospital; we had no floss at home and those cords can get pretty jammed up in your teeth (spits just thinking about it.)  but the flower remedy... my thought is, even if it doesn't do anything for your ornery parts, it's an act of good faith to mrs bln, and really that can't be a bad thing.

  • i can't see how a radio can tickle my fancy. i need to remove my underwear to tickle it myself.

  • Can your wife's 'sensei' friend send a bottle for my daughter?  She's making all of us a little crazy and she's not even 9 yet!  P.S. you haven't answered my email yet, would you mind popping over to this site for a minute?  Thanks!    Spot

  • Gee, Bob... I just didn't want to overwhelm you with my being so overwhelmed...  I was so so (pick an adjective) to see you posting again that I couldn't think coherently enough to comment *in words* yesterday.

    How can you even ask, Missus? 

    As Jeremy Irons said in his Oscar-winning potrayal of Klaus von Bulow, "You have no idea."

  • You expect that feeling to be restricted to driving?  Pfffft!  I can get it up to 10 times in a single conversation with Gothboy. ;o)

  • Hmm?  I'm sorry, did you say something?

  • But I don't want a more mature Bob!  I don't wanna, I don't wanna!

  • I've blanked out for exceptionally long periods of time.  It's really creepy.  Not only could I have killed myself, but others, too.  Weird. 

  • A New and Improved Bob?!?  I don't think that's a possibility.  You're too good as it is - anymore goodness and I think I'd just burst.

  • there's a lot to say about natural remedies. I think we're a very overmedicated society. but I dont think a flower can make you a different person... unless its a poppy... heh heh.

  • *scratches head in confusion*

    But...why?  Whatever happened to talking it out and developing?

    Ah, 'tis the age of fast results.

  • I have been thinking about you. Hope things are going okay for you. *hugs*

  • Let us know how the whole flower thing works out. Maybe ill be interested in it also, if it works for you.

  • Oh Yeah .. I got it working now .. of course it started on its own and I nearly fell out of the chair ...

    woo ... nice voice Mr BLN ... ~grins~

  • First:  about the driving and wondering "whuzzah?"  Yes, frighteningly often.  Let's hope we never find ourselves on the same block, shall we?
    Second: I don't know much about herbs and whathaveyou but...mrs bln is on the right track.  My daughter had mono last year and we gave her ecchinaecia (??sp) from a friend who studies herbs and, I honestly think it helped speed her recovery.  That or she was incredibly lucky.
    Third:  Great.  Now that I've heard your voice, I'm reading your blogs with an accent and saying things like 'shall' in my comments to you.  oh...forgive me...it's just an annoyingly lifelong habit of mine.
    Fourth: Would mrs bln like to leave you and come stay with mr lucky?  he hates my time online too.  But no, you're obviously on much better terms there in the nuthouse...you're making the attempt and I think that's wonderful!

  • I wonder if those things work if one can't smell.  I'm an anosmiac.

  • Sounds kind of interesting.  Recently I've been thinking about getting some acupuncture done on my wrists (kenpo related semi-injuries).  I've never gone that route before, I want to give it a try.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

Recent Posts

Recent Comments

Categories