Month: September 2003

  • Thanks to everyone for all the myrmecological advice. I didn't have any special equipment to hand, so I kept the ant (which turned out to be Polynesian) in a matchbox, filled with cotton wool and with a sprinkling of pork scratchings to keep him (or her...how do you sex these things anyway?) happy.

    Now I have to admit, I don't know much at all about the quality of life for your average ant, but it seemed to me, as I was putting it all together, that this ant was getting a pretty upmarket bit of accommodation and rent free, I might add.

    So I think you'll probably share my sense of outrage when I came down this morning and found that my new pet had done a runner. Fled the coop. The little bastard had absconded without so much as a by your leave or 'I'll be off now then' note propped up on the mantelpiece.

    Any of you guys want to buy an almost completely unused (one careful owner) ant apartment?

    All this upset has rather put me off pets for a bit but I think I do need a new hobby. Of course, I'd also hoped that ant keeping would be beneficial from the exercise point of view and it would be good to find a new hobby with a similarly energetic lifestyle attached. And it would be even better to find a hobby which requires me (or at least gives me the option) to dress up in special clothes when I'm doing it. Wearing hats is good too. They don't have to be the protective kind.

    Any suggestions?

  • Has anyone got any experience of keeping an ant as a pet?

    I need some advice.

Recent Posts

Recent Comments

Categories